Clemson Lions Club News
2005 Awards Night


  tom brooks presents oustanding lion to chuck rivers
President Tom Brooks recognizes Lion Chuck Rivers as the Lion of the Year.

Lion of the Year

Lion Chuck Rivers was recognized as the Clemson Lion of the Year. Rivers served as the President of the Clemson Lions Club during 2003-2004 and has been extremely dedicated to many activities of the club. This past year River’s served as the Co-Chair of the annual Clemson Lions golf tournament, Co-Chair of the District 32-A Midwinter Rally and also Co-Chair of the 2005 South Carolina Lions State Convention.

Lion Chuck was an active Lion in North Carolina for 19 years and served as President during his membership there. Lion Chuck and his wife Margarie reside in Clemson.


President Tom Brooks (left) presents Peter Newell (center) with the Young Lion of the Year plaque while Peter’s wife, Judi, looks on (far right).


Young Lion of the Year

Lion Peter Newell was recognized as the Young Lion of the Year. Newell has served over the past year as the Third Vice President and was last year’s Candy Day Chair. His hard work in many activities have contributed to a successful year for the Clemson Lions.



District Governor Tom Hayden of Lions District 32-A is shown presenting Anne Fletcher with a  plaque to commemorate her induction, while husband, Lion George Fletcher, looks on.

Melvin Jones Fellow

Mrs. Anne Fletcher, Guidance Counselor at Six Mile Elementary School received a Melvin Jones Fellowship from Lions Clubs International Foundation in recognition of her efforts to aid Tsunami victims.

Under her leadership, the students at Six Mile Elementary School raised over $1,300.00 to aid victims of the tsunami this past spring.  The money was donated to Lions Clubs International Foundation which received money world wide for the relief effort.

The Melvin Jones Fellowship was named after the founder of Lions Clubs International (LCI), Melvin Jones. The fellowship was established as the Lions Club International Foundation's highest form of recognition to acknowledge an individual's dedication to humanitarian service.


Archived News: